The Perinatal Research Society is honored to sponsor elite awards at each meeting.

Liley Lecture (Lectureship):The Liley award is the society’s own award and is given each year to recognize outstanding contributions and achievement in the area of perinatal research. In the past, this has been based on the overall advancement of the field and often reflects more prolonged career success rather than a single cutting edge study that the named lectureships otherwise tend to support.  Intentionally there is no restriction on the precise topic or recipient to give the current President and council the maximum flexibility, and it has been awarded to both members and nonmembers of the society.

Origins of the award:The Liley award and lectureship were established in 1985 to recognize the world renowned perinatal researcher Sir (Albert) William Liley KCMG FRSNZ (1929-1983).  Sir William was a New Zealand physician-scientist who specialized in fetal research in utero and was the first to overcome the problems of rhsesus incompatibility in human fetal transfusions. Of note, the first recipient was Mont Liggins, another highly prominent clinician scientist who was responsible for the modern day use of steroids to treat lung prematurity.

Liley Lectureship

The PSANZ-PRS Mont Liggins Early Career Award: This prestigious award was established in 2014 in partnership with the Perinatal Society of Australia and New Zealand (PSANZ).
PRS shares many aims of PSANZ: to foster multidisciplinary scientific interchange in the field of perinatology and developmental biology, and to foster early research careers.

The award will be given to one of the invited early research career speakers, supported by grants from PRS and PSANZ. It will be for the best oral presentation at the PSANZ congress by an eligible presenter who had been awarded PhD/MD within the last 5 years or has received professional vocational qualifications within the past 5 years AND is enrolled in an MD/PhD program.

Origins of the award:The Mont Liggins Early Career Award is named after one of New Zealand’s most eminent medical scientists, the late Professor Sir Graham Liggins. Sir Graham achieved international fame in 1960s and 1970s for clinical innovations based on fundamental biomedical research which increased the survival of sick and preterm babies. He is one of New Zealand’s most highly respected medical research scientists and is internationally renowned for his pioneering research on the fetus and newborn.

PRS-PSANZ Mont Liggins Award

Associate Member Paper Prize:The PRS Prize for an Outstanding Paper by an Associate Member was created in 2016.

The prize will be awarded to three Associate Members (one in each track) for the most outstanding published paper within each track published during the last year as determined by PRS Council. Accepted, but not yet published papers will NOT qualify. Award winners are announced at the annual meeting and will receive complimentary registration to the following year’s meeting.

Outstanding Paper by an Associate Member Award

Young Investigator Cassady Presidential Award: This award was established in 2012 for Meritorious Performance at the Annual Perinatal Research Society Meeting. The award is to be presented to a Young Investigator/Early Career Speaker at the meeting who most embodies the criterion of excellence defined by the PRS president at the time.

Origins of the award: PRS wanted to honor Al Cassady, from Mead Johnson Nutrition (corporate meeting sponsor) in recognition of the personal effort that he made to nurture young investigators far beyond the norm in his work with Mead Johnson.

Young Investigator Cassidy Presidential Award